Stage One – Nominations

A nationwide call for nominations will be conducted from early December to 2 February 2024 using Insurance Business’ online channels. Nominations are open across 20 categories. Any individual or company operating in the Australian insurance industry is eligible to submit a nomination, either on their own behalf or for someone else.

Nominations should focus on achievements and results from the previous 12 months – 1 January 2023 – 31 December 2023. All information contained in the entries and marked confidential will be treated as such and not be released without permission of the entrant.

All nominations must be submitted via the official Insurance Business Awards online portal and must be submitted on or before the final date of entry. The Insurance Business Awards team reserves the right to refuse any nominations submitted after this date.

Each nomination should not exceed 500 words so we encourage nominations to be brief, concise and factual. If successful as an excellence awardee, you will have the opportunity to complete a detailed submission addressing the category criteria in more detail.

Stage Two – Research and selection of excellence awardees

The Insurance Business Awards team will review the submissions and draw on industry knowledge and information gained through Insurance Business Australia to identify the outstanding brokers, brokerages and insurers in each category that will receive an ‘Excellence Award’.

Stage Three  – Confirmation of excellence awardees

Once the research has been completed, excellence awardees will be selected in each category and notified via e-mail. The excellence awardees for the National award – Australian Brokerage of the Year – will comprise the winners of the small, medium and large brokerage categories, and will be announced at the event itself. Excellence awardees will also be announced on Insurance Business website.

Stage Four – Excellence awardee submission

All excellence awardees will be invited to complete an official submission form, which will be forwarded to an independent judging panel. The submission form will ask for details on how each excellence awardee fulfils the criteria in their award category. All information contained in the submissions will remain entirely confidential unless otherwise marked and will not be shared with any third parties other than the judges.

Stage Five – Judging

The Insurance Business Awards team will send completed excellence awardee submissions to an independent panel of judges, comprising insurance industry leaders and senior representatives. Judges will be well known and well respected within the industry and their judgment will be impartial, balanced, incisive and fair. Any judge with a conflict of interest in a particular category will recuse themselves from judging that category. Judges will review the excellence awardee submissions and allocate a score for each excellence awardee. The excellence awardee with the highest score in each category once the judging process has been completed will be named the winner.

Stage Six – Awards ceremony

The winners in each category will be announced at the Insurance Business Awards gala dinner on Friday 3 May 2024 at The Fullerton Hotel Sydney. Winners will also be published on the Insurance Business website.


Register today and keep up to date with every key deadline and milestone throughout the Insurance Business Awards process.